Our Staff.


Smiling man on sofa

James Fleming – Executive Director

James has worked as a lawyer in industrial relations for government, unions and the community legal sector. Previously, he was a Legal and Industrial Officer at the Australian Council of Trade Unions, an Adviser ­– External Affairs at the Fair Work Ombudsman, and a Solicitor at JobWatch and Youthlaw.

James holds a Bachelor of Arts/Laws (honours) from ANU.

Woman smiling

Jane Douglas – Business Manager

Jane Douglas is the Business Manager at the AIER and in addition Jane holds the position of National Industrial Officer for Civil Air Operations. Jane took up the position as AIER Business Manager in 2009. Jane has previously held appointments with the Australian Industrial Relations Commission and the ACTU.

Jane manages the administrative and financial systems of the AIER.

Jane holds a Bachelor of Business (Human Resources/Industrial Relations) from RMIT University.


Our Patron.


Man in dark suit

Ron McCallum AO – AIER Patron

Ronald C McCallum AO is widely recognised as one of Australia’s leading labour law academics. He was the foundation Blake Dawson Waldron Professor in Industrial
Law in the University of Sydney Law School from January 1993 until 30 September 2007. This professorship was the first full professorship in industrial law at any Australian university. Ron is the first totally blind person to have been appointed to
a full professorship in any field at any university in Australia or New Zealand. Ron
was Professor of Labour Law at Sydney Law School from 1 February 2008 until 31 December 2010. In January 2011, he was appointed to an Emeritus Professorship in Sydney Law School. Ron is a past Chair of the United Nations Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and was named Senior Australian of the Year in 2011. Ron is Patron of the AIER.

Our Executive Committee


Man in dark suit

Michael Harmer – President and Chair

Michael Harmer is the founding partner, Chairman and Senior Team Leader of Harmers Workplace Lawyers, and has in excess of 35 years’ experience in industrial relations.

His practice places special emphasis on the preventive law approach in assisting clients in the informed management of a range of human rights, OH&S and employment issues and seeks to implement workplace fairness for all.

Michael has represented many of Australia’s leading corporations, senior executives and media personalities as well as having run some of Australia’s leading cases in employment and discrimination.

Woman in dark jumper, smiling

Fiona Hardie – Vice President, Employer Representative

Fiona Hardie is co-owner of one of Australia’s largest independent publishers.

Fiona and her partner, Sandy Grant, established Hardie Grant in Melbourne in 1997. The company now has offices in Melbourne, Sydney and London and San Francisco; publishes hundreds of titles each year, in a range of media – books, magazines, and digital; and employs 200 staff.

Over the past thirty years, Fiona has been involved with women’s, legal, publishing and workplace organisations, including setting up one of the earliest employer-based childcare centres in Melbourne.

Joellen Riley Munton – Vice President, Independent Representative

Joellen Riley Munton is a Professor of Law at the University of Technology Sydney. She has been teaching and writing in the field of employment and labour law since 1998 and is

an author on a number of books in the field, including The Law of Work, and Macken’s Law of Employment (7th and 8th editions). Her academic career includes six years as Dean of Law at The University of Sydney.

Man with glasses

Mark Perica Vice President – Union Representative

Mark has been a labour lawyer within law firms, at the bar and in blue and white collar unions for over thirty years. He holds Masters degrees in Law and in Industrial Relations and regularly appears in proceedings in the state and federal industrial and equal opportunity tribunals and in the Federal Circuit Court. He was an ACTU nominee on the Council on Industrial Legislation, is a regular speaker at academic and union conferences, and has appeared in a number of significant and lengthy proceedings in his career. He also has expertise in the application of the application of international labour rights. He  has appeared before the Committee on the Application of Standards, made complaints to  the Freedom of Association Committee, and has been a worker representative in the International Labour Conference of the ILO.
Man in light shirt

Keith Harvey – Treasurer

Keith Harvey is a Trustee Director of Care Super, an industry superannuation fund and is Chair of Aspire Learning a not for profit company developing vocational education learning resources for business and community services occupations.

Keith is a life member of the ASU, and retired ASU National Industrial Officer having worked nearly 40 years with the trade union movement and has worked on a number of key cases including the Pay Equity case in social, community and disability services.

Ben Redford – Committee Member

Ben Redford is the Director – Strategic Power at the United Workers Union, and directs industrial, legal affairs and research at UWU. He has practised in industrial and employment law for over 20 years.
Blank photo

Sean Reidy - Committee Member

Sean is a barrister practicing in Queensland. He has worked in industrial and employment law for over 30 years. He is the author of the chapter on Effective Dispute Resolution in the Charter.

Jack Kenchington-Evans – Committee Member

Jack is the Federal Industrial Officer for the Australian Education Union. Jack has worked as a lawyer and Industrial Officer in unions and private practice since 2011.

Sanushka Mudaliar – Committee Member

Sanushka Mudaliar is the Director of the Red Cross Red Crescent Global Migration Lab. She previously worked in program management and policy roles for international NGOs and academic think tanks, and as a specialist consultant to the ILO, IOM and UN Women focusing on human rights and humanitarian protections for migrant workers. She participates in the Executive Committee of the AIER in her personal capacity.